Time Management

I moved jobs in January to be closer to home and be able to spend more time with my son. The good news is I do have more time with my cheeky monkey but time for anything else seems to be evaporating.

The main reason is my new job is full on, constant from the moment I walk in to when I set off to pick my son up. In my old job I had a proper lunch break in which I could pay some bills, plan a blog or just read my kindle. In my new job I’m lucky if I get 5 mins to turn my chair away from my desk and eat my lunch.

I’m more than thankful I’ve found a way to work and see my son more (still sadly full time) I just didn’t plan to then have to cram everything else in a few short hours during the week.

As I start work earlier in the morning I’m up with B before 6am but where as before I’d have time to wake up and enjoy a coffee and quick playtime I’m up, packing lunches and off. When I get back from work with B its a quick rush to make his tea then we can finally enjoy playtime before bath, milk, Daddy coming home and bed.

Then I prob have 2 hours before I’m ready to fall into bed. In which I’ll cook our tea and clean up and get an hour or so to collapse on the sofa and watch a bit of mindless TV.

So the housework is suffering a bit (if we had spare cash I’d so consider a cleaner), I’m usually comatose by Friday and I wonder if there are actually working mums that manage it all, although I reckon they would only survive off 4 hours sleep.

Things I’d like us to do at the weekend often get forgotten as we’re too tired from the past week. Luckily, B loves his childminder but he is kept so busy (like us) during the week he also seems to take longer naps at the weekend to catch up.

Although this morning despite having a poorly OH I’ve done breakfast and actually cleaned the kitchen straight after (this is rare) and the washing machine is on and house doesn’t look like a bombs hit it and I’ve actually wrote this while helping B put his shapes in learning bug.

Maybe what I really need to do is get better at time management and multi-tasking!!

MT

About mumtales

A new Mum attempting to blog and tell some good (and bad) tales about the highs and lows of motherhood! * Anonymous blogger at the moment until I feel brave!

Posted on June 15, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I think you are doing an amazing job hun.

    Thank you for linking up with the Weekend Blog Hop

    Hope to see you again this weekend

    Laura x x x

Leave a Reply

The Sunday Baking Club

Bake. Drink. Share. Eat. Drink some more.

Margot tries the good life

A chronicle of the transformation from self-confessed townie to country bumpkin

mummylovescake

Random words of wisdom on parenting, baking and life

29 Year Old Mama

Mama. Wife. Friend

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

